Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Meaning of the Names of the Babylonian Talmud's Seven Heavens

The Seven Heavens of Judaism

1) Wilon: Curtain
2) Rakia: Expanse, firmament
3) Shehakim: Clouds, dust
4) Zebul: Elevation, height, lofty abode, Temple
5) Ma'on: Dwelling, habitation
6) Makon: Fixed or established place, residence
7) ‘Araboth: to be dark, in darkness 

SOURCE: Babylonian Talmud, Chagigah 12b, Soncino Edition

No comments:

Post a Comment